29 June 2010

"Jackie the Lion" is now "Leo the Lion"

Five different lions have been used for the MGM logo.  Pictured above is the filming of Jackie, who replaced Slats in 1928.   Slats only looked around; he never roared (in part because his four years of stardom were during the era of silent movies).  Jackie's roar was played to silent movie audiences through the use of a gramophone.  Jackie was followed by Tanner, then by George (also referred to as "Bob"), and finally by the current Leo.

Photo found at The Mopo, via.

1 comment:

  1. The MGM lions came from Gay's Lion Farm in El Monte, a fascinating early Southern California tourist attraction. Despite one fatal mauling over three decades, the lions were quite patient with humans, most having been bottle-raised by Muriel Gay.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...